Museum is Open on Sundays 2-4:00pm except holiday weekends and before our 7:30pm Tuesday programs and 2:00pm Sunday programs
The New Scotland Museum tells the story of the Town from its geological beginning to the present. Visitors can see fossils, Indian artifacts, early agricultural implements, and many other reminders of centuries of life in New Scotland. There is even an 1854 map by famous 19th Century Robber-Baron Jay Gould! Each year, special exhibits outline aspects of local history.
View the images to see pieces from our permanent collection:
Part of the Museum occupies what once was the one room New Salem Schoolhouse built in 1903. Some of the building's original features have been preserved, such as the blackboards and the old coat room, where students were sometimes sent for misbehavior!
The Museum first opened in 1975. It was expanded and refurbished in 1997. Since that time, its collections and activities have been growing. A recently completed barn serves as collection storage and extra exhibit space for large artifacts. The Museum shares program space with the Wyman Osterhout Community Center.
The Museum houses a large collection of photographs, and a variety of local history resources that are available to researchers and the public.
“History Lost, History Preserved”
The exhibit highlights four themes: old hotels that once operated in New Scotland township; a charming collection of postcards, the “tweets” of the past; memorabilia from the Helderberg Ski Club, which originally operated in the Helderbergs starting in 1934; and a collection of milk bottles and ephemera from New Scotland township farms that bottled their own milk and sold it under their own names.